Spontaneous, touching, paragraph after paragraph... often surprising


The Book

“Tomahawk” is the result of four years’ gestation, and underwent several rewrites. After considering tackling the topic in the form of a novel, the author preferred authenticity over fiction and opted for an autobiographical essay which above all acts as testimony to a human experience.

The book introduces the reader to the world of innovation and change management, as the author himself discovered it.

How to innovate, create, change organisations or question ourselves in a world whose model of society does not prepare us for evolution?

This model, influenced by thousands of years of leadership that has been more directive than collaborative, largely derived from our religious past, and solely guided by financial productivity, which is the productivity of production, not of creation, is focusing essentially on profit generated by production.

Consequently slots, through the intermediary of school, it mainly fashions specialised producers, without giving them an overall understanding of their environment nor any education on how to manage change. In particular, by smothering individuals’ own identity through the injunction “Do what you’re told” and by creating competition between them, this model does not develop in them the necessary qualities for the management of change, creativity or cooperation. This results in the compartmentalisation of functions, of cultures and mentalities which adds to conflicts of interests to produce what is usually known as “resistance to change”.

This lack of “change culture” and this conditioning to financial productivity as the sole model have a triple consequence:

  • Organisations struggle to make the correct diagnoses and to apply the appropriate solutions to the issues they encounter
  • Our personal equilibrium is threatened on a daily basis due to the fact that our identity is continually trampled, resulting in frustration, aggressiveness, malaise and conflict
  • Our society struggles to make  our human condition slowly evolve, and then only through brutal conflicts when people's discomfort level is such that it sparks off bloody confrontations. Like the tomahawk, which has evolved from a stone hatchet to the cruise missile which targeted Baghdad, our society has only evolved on a technological level. Our behvaiour, on the other hand, remains stuck in the brutality of the stone age. 

Today, exclusion is certainly the most oppressive of the threats which hangs over society as a whole, since it is constant and nobody can feel really protected from it due to financial speculation which goes on without any checks and balances, and which has no regard for human beings,  recognising only money as a symbol of success in our society.

To fight against this threat, will we wait, as usual, for the breaking point, to massacre one another again and, finally, to fall in step with the laws imposed by the future victors, before doing it all over?

Is there any possible approach other than successive conflicts in order to make the human condition evolve, an approach which would be proactive and not reactive, an approach which would bring people together, and which would not divide and rule?

Fortunately yes, in any ore, a gem can be found. To be specific, in the field of evolution management, this nugget is the unique identity of each individual. Individuals interact to make any organisation a unique mosaic of knowledge and cultures that is very difficult to replicate. This diversity represents an inestimable potential in terms of collective creativity for those who know how to orchestrate it.

 Respect for the identity of the individual is fundamental for his or her creativity, motivation, cooperation and equilibrium. With this as the guiding principle of your decisions and actions, you can work miracles, overcome resistance to change, make possible the impossible, and bring to fruition any project of creation, however utopian.

This is what the book brings to understand over the life experiences of the author since his birth, then as a child, a father, a citizen, an executive, and an entrepreneur. Far from pessimistic, the essay looks to the future with the aim of fostering respect for the identity of the individual as one of the pillars of the schools of tomorrow.

Enjoy the book.

Spontané, émouvant, paragraphe après paragraphe,… souvent surprenant


Le livre

Tomahawk est le résultat de quatre années de gestation et de trois réécritures. Après avoir hésité à en faire un roman l’auteur a préféré l’authenticité à la fiction et en a fait un essai autobiographique qui témoigne avant tout d’une expérience humaine.

Le livre fait découvrir au lecteur le monde de la gestion de l’innovation et du changement comme l’auteur l’a lui-même découvert.

Comment innover, créer, changer les organisations pour faire évoluer une société dont le modèle n’encourage pas l’évolution ?

Ce modèle, influencé par un leadership multimillénaire, plutôt directif que collaboratif, issu de notre passé historique et religieux, et mu par la seule productivité financière qui est une productivité de production et non de création, est entièrement orienté vers le profit généré par la production.

En conséquence il forme, par l’intermédiaire de l’école, avant tout des producteurs spécialisés sans leur donner les moyens d’une compréhension globale de leur environnement ni la moindre initiation à la gestion du changement slots. Par ailleurs, en étouffant leur identité propre par des « Fais ce qu’on te dit » trop directifs et en les mettant en compétition les uns contre les autres, il omet de développer en eux les qualités nécessaires à la gestion de l’évolution, la créativité et la collaboration. Cela se traduit par un cloisonnement des fonctions, des cultures et des esprits qui vient s’ajouter aux conflits d’intérêts pour générer ce que l’on a coutume d’appeler la « résistance au changement ».

Ce manque de «culture du changement» et ce formatage à la seule productivité financière ont une triple conséquence:

  • Nos organisations ont du mal à faire les bons diagnostics et à mettre en œuvre les solutions appropriées face aux problèmes rencontrés,
  • L’équilibre des individus est menacé quotidiennement du fait du musellement de leur identité, générant ainsi frustrations, agressivité, mal-être et conflits,
  • Notre société ne parvient à faire évoluer notre condition humaine que très lentement et par à-coups brutaux lorsque le niveau d’inconfort atteint par une quantité suffisante d’individus déclenche de sanglantes confrontations. A l’image du « Tomahawk » qui a évolué de la hache de pierre au missile de croisière qui a bombardé Bagdad, notre société n’a su évoluer que technologiquement, nos comportements sont en revanche restés  figés a l’âge de pierre, ère des rapports de force brutaux.

Aujourd’hui, l’exclusion est la plus oppressante des menaces qui pèse sur l’ensemble des individus car elle est constante et personne ne peut s’en sentir réellement protégé du fait d’une spéculation financière, sans contrôle ni contre-pouvoir, qui méprise l’être humain au profit de la seule valeur reconnue institutionnellement par notre société comme symbole de succès: l’argent !

Pour lutter contre cette menace, attendrons-nous, comme d’habitude, le point de rupture qui nous fera nous massacrer de nouveau et finalement nous aligner sur la loi exclusive des futurs vainqueurs,…avant de recommencer ultérieurement ?

Y-a-t-il une approche alternative à celle des conflits successifs pour faire évoluer notre condition humaine, une approche qui soit proactive plutôt que réactive, une approche qui rassemble et non qui divise ? 

Oui, dans toute gangue repose heureusement un diamant. En l’occurrence, dans le domaine de la gestion de l’évolution, ce diamant est l’identité unique de chaque individu. De fait, les individus contribuent à faire de chaque organisation une mosaïque de savoirs et de cultures qui la rend unique et très difficile à copier. Cette diversité représente également un fantastique atout et un capital inestimable en matière de créativité collective pour qui sait l’orchestrer.

Le respect de l’identité de l’individu est le fondement de sa créativité, de sa motivation, de sa collaboration et de son équilibre. Avec ceci en tête, comme fil directeur de vos décisions et actions, vous pouvez faire des miracles, rendre possible l’impossible en surmontant la résistance au changement, rendre opérationnelle l’utopie à l’origine de tout projet de création.

C’est ce que ce livre vous amène à comprendre au fil des expériences vécues par l’auteur depuis sa naissance, en tant qu’enfant, père, citoyen, employé puis entrepreneur. Loin d’être pessimiste,’ il s’inscrit dans le futur avec le projet de promouvoir le respect de l’identité de l’individu pour en faire l’un des piliers fondateurs de notre école de demain.

Bonne lecture.